Culture / Design / Typography

Trash and Typography….

While looking for images on the internet for my Dystopian Novel cover project and catching up with my Facebook feed, I ran across a pretty interesting hybrid of typography, graphic image, and dystopian vibe. It all comes together in a style of tattoos called Trash Polka, which a relative of my significant other is trying out at her tattoo studio in San Antonio, TX.

Basically the style was “invented” by Simone Plaff and Volko Merschky of the Buena Vista Tattoo Club in Würzburg, Germany a few years ago, and it’s slowly making its way here in the U.S.

I like the interesting mix of graphic collage and poster art with letterpress style typography, a departure from the usual script style we’re more familiar with seeing even on more recent type only tattoos. While the combinations don’t always work, it’s an interesting direction for the whole body (or body part as the case may be) to serve as the “frame” for a two dimensional design. In addition, while sifting through the images I found some great looking flies for my Lord of the Flies cover, which I have an idea of incorporating into the title letterforms.

In the meantime, I enjoyed the discovery, and if you want to know more about it, you can check here and here.

Leave a Reply

