Design / Digital Design / Journal / Projects

expanding my brain (coral)…

The latest updates to my brain coral illustration, which, although I didn’t fully complete it the way I wanted to in Digital Design class, is still on my radar as I want to include it in my final portfolio. I’m using extrude and bevel to create the 3D coral surface, and the blend tool with customized spines to create the striations along that surface. The end result may look rather stylized, but I hope to end up with something that is representative and faithful to the original image as possible. For a more thorough explanation on tools and methods used, check out my Illustration page in the Digital Design section https://kathcorgan.wordpress.com/digital-design/illustration/ :

Full extrusion and sphere with some corrections needed

Full extrusion and sphere to date

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_Hnc919GMIgc/TFIxT9iJfkI/AAAAAAAAAUo/5bsEDtqfVG0/s1600/2010+07+28_1443.jpg

Original Brain Coral image

Leave a Reply

